TALK / STORAGE
Read the slot size, the interface and the lane width on the manufacturer page. Two M.2 slots do not always mean two equal slots.
Short answer
Check three things on the manufacturer’s specification page before buying: the slot length (for example 2280), the interface (NVMe over PCIe, or SATA), and the PCIe generation and lane count for each slot. “Dual M.2” tells you the number of slots, not that both are the same.
Real examples from manufacturer pages
The Beelink EQ14 page, read on 2026-10-24, lists dual M.2 2280 PCIe 3.0 SSD slots with up to 8 TB, and says the retail unit ships with a SATA III SSD. That tells you the size and generation, and that the included drive may be SATA, but the page we read does not state lane counts per slot.
The Minisforum MS-01 page lists three M.2 2280 NVMe slots with different links: one PCIe 4.0 x4, one PCIe 3.0 x4 and one PCIe 3.0 x2. A drive placed in the x2 slot has half the lanes of the others, so its maximum speed is lower even if the drive is fast. Place the fastest drive in the best slot.
Why the CPU matters too
The processor limits total PCIe lanes. Intel lists a maximum of 9 PCI Express lanes, revision Gen 3, for the N150. Those lanes are shared among everything on the board, such as storage, network and Wi-Fi, so a mini PC with an N150 cannot offer unlimited full-speed NVMe slots. The manufacturer decides how lanes are split; their page or manual is the authority.
Spec page versus manual
A product page is a summary. The user manual or BIOS screens may state more, and if lane counts are missing it is reasonable to ask the manufacturer’s support and keep the reply. Also separate storage slots from the Wi-Fi slot: the MS-01 page lists a distinct M.2 2230 slot for Wi-Fi, which is not a place for a storage drive.
Checklist before you buy
1. Slot size: 2280 is common, but some slots take 2242 or 2230 only. 2. Interface: confirm NVMe, SATA, or both. 3. Generation and lanes: match the SSD to the slot; a faster drive in a slower slot still works but runs at the slot speed. 4. Height and thermal: some chassis have limited clearance, so check heatsink space. 5. Operating system: if you plan to install Home Assistant OS on the boot drive, avoid drives that use 4K-only sectors (see our Home Assistant answer).
We have not benchmarked any drive or slot. For wider context see our Proxmox all-in-one guide, which is being revised.
Other perspectives
Adding to “Short answer”
Ask for the slot table in writing if the listing is vague, and keep a screenshot of the specification page. Buy the SSD from a seller with a return policy. If you only need bulk storage for media, a slower slot or a SATA drive may be enough, and you can save money by not paying for a faster drive that the slot cannot use. If you need a lot of storage cheaply, external USB drives are an alternative, with their own speed limits.
Adding to “Real examples from manufacturer pages”
Compare slots, not just counts. Prefer a unit whose page lists PCIe generation and lanes for each slot, as the MS-01 page does. Where a page lists only “PCIe 3.0”, treat per-slot lane counts as unconfirmed until you find the manual. Remember that adding slots also shares power and heat in a small chassis. Note any shared lanes between slots if the manual mentions them.
Adding to “Checklist before you buy”
When you install the drive, ground yourself, power down and unplug, and note which slot you used. After installing, check in the BIOS or operating system that the drive appears and its link speed. Keep an eye on drive temperature under long copies; thermal throttling shows up as speed dropping. Back up the old drive before cloning or moving data. Check SSD health tools for temperature and wear occasionally on a machine that runs all day.
Quick questions
- Can I use a SATA M.2 drive in an NVMe slot?
- It depends on the slot. Some accept both and some only NVMe. Check the manufacturer page; do not assume.
- Will a faster SSD run faster in any slot?
- No. It runs at the slot's speed, set by its PCIe generation and lane count.
Hardware mentioned
Plain links to manufacturer or project pages. They are not affiliate links, and we show no prices here because prices change; see our price and data policy.
- Beelink EQ14 (dual M.2 2280 PCIe 3.0, per vendor page) (manufacturer or project page, read 2026-10-24)
- Minisforum MS-01 (three M.2 slots with different PCIe links, per vendor page) (manufacturer or project page, read 2026-10-24)
What we checked
We separate documented facts from our own advice and from what we could not confirm. We did not run tests for this answer. See how we test and our editorial policy.
Facts from sources
- Beelink EQ14 page: dual M.2 2280 PCIe 3.0 slots, up to 8 TB, ships with SATA III SSD.
- MS-01 page: three M.2 2280 NVMe slots at PCIe 4.0 x4, 3.0 x4, 3.0 x2.
- Intel ARK: N150 max 9 PCIe lanes, Gen 3.
- HAOS cannot boot from 4Kn-only sector drives (HA x86-64 guide).
Our advice
- Match SSD to the slot spec; put the fastest drive in the fastest slot.
Not confirmed
- EQ14 per-slot lane counts are not stated on the page we read.
- No benchmarks run.
Sources (read 2026-10-24)
- Beelink EQ14 (N150) — manufacturer product page — read 2026-10-24
- Minisforum MS-01 — manufacturer product page — read 2026-10-24
- Intel ARK — Processor N150 specifications — read 2026-10-24
- Home Assistant — Generic x86-64 — read 2026-10-24